Category: Music





Before Young Jeezy, 50 Cent, Mobb Deep or whomever claiming gangsta on wax, there was Spice 1. It’s pretty easy to forget about Spice 1 being that the west coast isn’t currently on the radar and that he wasn’t as big of a star during the peak of the West Coast. But what people don’t know is that Spice is one of the first cats that made murder on wax acceptable to talk about. Now being that he isn’t really putting out any more new material at the moment, but he was one of the few cats that made killing on wax acceptable to talk about.

Critics stereotype Gangsta Rappers as generic emcees because they only talk about guns, money, bitches and murder along with not being able to be lyrically complex. Well Spice 1 is pretty much different from most gangsta rappers that came out during that time period. He has an interesting deep delivery and can also show versatility as well. While songs on the album I’m the Fuckin Murderer, Dumpin ‘em in Ditches, and the Murda Show featuring McEiht, shows Spice telling his graphic tales of murder in the hood.

He can flip almost any style on the mic whenever it’s the Bone Thugs type of flow (he showcases it on his follow-up album) the Reggae rapid style which he shows on Smoke ‘Em Like a Blunt and with his vivid storytelling of graphic scenarios that are occurring every day in the life of the ‘hood. Spice showcases his storytelling ability on Do Ring the Alarm and Runnin’ Out the Crackhouse to silence critics about his talent being limited. What’s further impressive about Spice’s skill set is how he redid Nigga Gots No Heart by doing a cleaner version titles like “Trigga Gots no Heart” which has NO Profanity.  On one track of the album is R.I.P. where he goes deep and gives out shootouts to his friends and loved ones that have passed away.

Overall this is probably Spice’s most underrated album. I seriously doubt the hip hop crowd of hipsters wearing skinny jeans and doing dance songs would digest Spice 1′s style of music considering its aggressive and hard-hitting. It’s clear that Spice 1 isn’t aiming for that demographic. He’s speaking to the gangstas and the people in the struggle that can relate to everyday hood life. Fans of hardcore gangsta hip hop should add this album to their collection.


Album Peak chart positions Certifications
U.S. U.S. R&B
1991 Let It Be Known 69
Released: January 22, 1991
Label: Triad
1992 Spice 1 82 14
Released: May 12, 1992
Label: Jive
1993 187 He Wrote 10 1 US: Gold
Released: Sept 28, 1993
Label: Jive
1994 AmeriKKKa’s Nightmare 22 2 US: Gold
Released: November 22, 1994
Label: Jive
1995 1990-Sick 30 3 US: Gold
Released: December 5, 1995
Label: Jive
1997 The Black Bossalini 28 5
Released: October 28, 1997
Label: Jive
1999 Immortalized 111 30
Released: October 12, 1999
Label: Jive
2000 The Last Dance 54
Released: May 16, 2000
Label: Mobb Status
2002 Spiceberg Slim 79
Released: June 11, 2002
Label: Riviera
2004 The Ridah 89
Released: June 8, 2004
Label: Independent Warrior
2005 Dyin’ 2 Ball
Released: January 25, 2005
Label: Triple X
2005 The Truth
Released: October 4, 2005
Label: High Powered
Collaboration Albums
  • 2001: Criminal Activity (with Celly Cel as Criminalz)
  • 2003: NTA: National Thug Association (with Bad Boy)
  • 2004: The Pioneers (with MC Eiht)
  • 2006: Thug Lordz Trilogy (with C-Bo & Yukmouth as Thug Lordz)
  • 2006: Keep It Gangsta (with MC Eiht)
  • 2007: Criminal Intent (with Jayo Felony)
  • 1998: Hits
  • 2000: The Playa Rich Project
  • 2001: Hits II: Ganked & Gaffled
  • 2002: The Playa Rich Project 2
  • 2002: Hits 3
  • 2002: Thug Disease
  • 2005: Bossed Out
  • 2005: The Thug In Me
  • 2006: Life After Jive: 2000 to 2005
  • 2007: Thug Association
  • 2008: Thug Reunion
Guest appearances
  • 1993: “Spice 1 wit da Banksta” (from the Ant Banks album Sittin’ on Somethin’ Phat)
  • 1993: “The Dangerous Crew” (from the Too Short album Get in Where You Fit In)
  • 1994: “Gangsta Team” (from the South Central Cartel album ‘N Gatz We Truss)
  • 1994: “2 Kill a G” (from the Ant Banks album The Big Badass)
  • 1994: “Nigga Sings the Blues” (from Jason’s Lyric Soundtrack)
  • 1994: “Nuthin’ but the Gangsta” (from the MC Eiht album We Come Strapped)
  • 1994: “East Coast/West Coast” (from the Simplé E album Colouz Uv Sound)
  • 1995: “Sound of Lead” (from the Ant Banks album Do or Die)
  • 1995: “Born II Die” (from the Tales from the Hood Soundtrack)
  • 1995: “Dusted N Disgusted” (from the E-40 album In a Major Way)
  • 1995: “Trouble (Scared to Blast)” (from the The Dangerous Crew album Don’t Try This at Home)
  • 1995: “No Peace”, “Gun Smoke”, “Pass da Dank” (from the South Central Cartel album Murder Squad Nationwide)
  • 1996: “Slugs” (from the Original Gangstas soundtrack
  • 1996: “Red Rum” (from the Celly Cel album Killa Kali)
  • 1996: “Check Ya Self” (from America Is Dying Slowly)
  • 1996: “Why You Wanna Funk?” (from High School High Soundtrack)
  • 1997: “West Riden” (from the Ant Banks album Big Thangs)
  • 1997: “Function” (from the Da’ Unda’ Dogg album Fresh Out Da’ Gates – The Autobiography)
  • 1997: “Don’t Stop” (from the Seagram album Souls on Ice)
  • 1997: “I’m Losin’ It” (from the 2Pac album R U Still Down? (Remember Me))
  • 1997: “Fac Not Fiction”, “All Head No Body” (from the 187 Fac album Fac Not Fiction)
  • 1998: ” “, “Salt Shaka” (from the 2 One One album 2 One One in Progress)
  • 1998: “I Can’t Turn Back” (from Cellblock Compilation, Vol. 2: Face/Off)
  • 1998: “Don’t Wait” (from the Devin the Dude album The Dude)
  • 1998: “360°” (from the Eightball album Lost)
  • 1998: “Mob On”, “Heat” (from the Paris album Unleashed)
  • 1999: “Section 11350” (from the Kokane album They Call Me Mr. Kane)
  • 1999: “Wet Party” (from the Tear Da Club Up Thugs album CrazyNDaLazDayz)
  • 1999: “Shook Niggas” (from the T.W.D.Y. album Derty Werk)
  • 1999: “Killa Foe My Skrilla” (from the Arapahoe TRUES album Original Rhythm & Hip Hop)
  • 2000: “AK Spray” (from the Flesh-N-Bone album From Cleveland 2 Cali)
  • 2000: “Smash” (from the Outlawz album Ride Wit Us or Collide Wit Us)
  • 2000: “Who Got the Keys?” (from the Low Life Mafia album Riding Deep & Dirty)
  • 2000: “U Better Get Ready” (from the Black Mophia Clan album Heat From The Streets Of Roe)
  • 2000: “Hustlers Dream” (from Blood and Tears Soundtrack)
  • 2000: “In Yo’ Look” (from the Sean T album Heated)
  • 2000: “Wig Split” (from the DenGee album DenGee Livin’)
  • 2001: “The Payback” (from the 187 album Furious)
  • 2003: “Game” (from the 40 Glocc album The Jakal)
  • 2004: “In the Ghetto” (from the Trae album Losing Composure)
  • 2004: “Some Girls Deserve To Die” (from Mars Unreleased album)
  • 2005: “Second Time Around” (from the Mars album Mars Attacks)
  • 2006: “The New West” (from the Playalitical album Code Green: Operation Take Over)
  • 2006: “Public Enemy No. 1” (from the Timz album Open for Business)
  • 2007: “Staying Alive”, “Murder’Ra” (from the Z-Ro album King Of Tha Ghetto: Power)
  • 2007: “Start a Problem”, “Tell Me What U Want” (from the Daz Dillinger album Gangsta Party)
  • 2007: “My Heat Go…” (from the Tito B album Starz The Limit)
  • 2008: “Street Life” (from the Grave Plott album The Plott Thickens)
  • 2008: “No Thang” (from the Kung Fu Vampire album Dead Sexy)
  • 2009: “6 Ways from Sunday” (from the Killa C album “Bound In Chains”)
  • 2011: “The Game Needs Me” (from Suga T album “The Best Is Yet To Come”)
  • 2012: “The Other Day Ago” (from E-40 album The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil 2)


Did you like this? Share it: